Flash Fiction Competition 2021 - Winners

20 July

Flash Fiction Competition 2021 - Winners

We are pleased to announce the winners of the Bexhill College Flash Fiction Competition 2021.

The entries have been enormously impressive and it has been very difficult to choose the best pieces of writing as the competition was stiff. We had such a good number of entries from staff and students that we decided to split the entries into two categories, one for staff and one for students, and award prizes in both.

The entries were reviewed by a panel of ten expert judges who were asked to nominate their top three entries in the two categories. The names of the competitors were removed from each story so there could be no bias. The final decision was made by the chief judge, Catherine Bagley.

We will be publishing all the entries as a booklet. We will also be publishing the winning entries in the Autumn edition of the College magazine. The winners are receiving a voucher and a certificate.

The winners are:


  1. Teigan Banks – The Mother of All Losses – First Prize
  2. Claire Toms – Save Us Serpent – Second Prize
  3. Liam Banks – Ozman          and          Phoebe Labadie – The Eyes – Joint Third Prize


  1. Tania Turner – A Second – First Prize
  2. May Young – The Magpie – Second Prize
  3. Sophie West – The Manager     and     Lucie Lineham – Joint Third Prize


View all Courses
Apply Now

Apply NOW for September 2023 Entry

If you wish to apply for 2023-24 academic year, please complete the online application form.

Apply Now

The Bexhill 6th Form College website uses Cookies. If you continue using this website without changing your browser settings, we will assume you are happy with this.